Marching On

… And now it’s March. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: wow.

March has always been an odd month for me. It’s spring (unless the snow has anything to say about that), yet things don’t feel renewed. It’s a month without days off for school, yet it feels like school’s almost over and summer slips into focus. It’s a month with lots of debate, yet the season ends. And of course, with junior year comes college, while you’re still in high school. It’s a labyrinth of a month, really.

Given that my last post focused on Harvard, I think it’s important that I summarize here what happened: not much. I went 2 wins and 2 losses, par for the course for me. The rounds were fair and competitive. The food was fine. Though in the moment it seemed (as it always does) exciting and interesting, in hindsight it was just another tournament.

The college search is still ongoing, as might be expected. I’ve begun to move past the stage of “wow, this school looks really cool” to the realm of safeties, matches and reaches. I’m going to keep closed lips regarding what schools I’m considering–the search is still young–but a clear number one has emerged, with several schools very close on its heels. I’m not pulling any triggers just yet, since I see visits and interviews in my future. One visit has already been mapped out for April break, and I hope to visit others during the summer.

Creative writing, in all honesty, has been difficult for me lately. My problem isn’t coming up with new ideas, it’s following up on those ideas. One idea for a novel has been developing in my head, and I wrote a few poems and an essay at a debate tournament last weekend, so I’m going to see what I can do with those. I hope to publish one or two of them on here, so stay tuned for that.

March, march. A transition point, then an instruction. It’s already been an interesting month, and it’s going to be for the next twenty-seven days. There’s a lot of time, and there’s a lot of things to focus on. It’s just a matter of applying the two–and that’s easier said than done. We’ll just have to see.

One thought on “Marching On

  1. ethankrop March 11, 2015 / 12:02 pm

    I think that this article is very interesting, as it does a good job of sharing a personal story to the world for others to enjoy. I like the humor and the overall wittiness of the blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

