The present now will later be past

We’re nearly through March, people. One-quarter of the way through 2015, two-thirds of the way through the school year. The last third has always been an odd time scholastically, and the way high school is structured with finals just makes things feel even odder. I can’t imagine what it’s going to be like a year from now, with college admissions wrapped up.

Regarding college, I feel like I’m in an okay position. I’m studying for the SATs, but more pressing to me is my first college visit in April break. I’ll be honest: it’s somewhat frightening to me. I’ve been planning out everything in a delicate process, and to have some unpredictability (experiences are different than plans, after all) unnerves me. I won’t say anything more until after the visit because of that unpredictability.

The debate season wraps up tomorrow with the state tournament. We’ll see how that goes. I wish I can write some big post about how this season has changed my life and how it’s inspired memories I’ll never forget, but in all honesty my feelings are rather jumbled. At the end of every season, I have this feeling of burnout, and I’m feeling it right now. My preparations for tomorrow has been smaller than that for previous tournaments because I just don’t have the heart to pour hours into research right now. Besides, my thoughts about writing are starting to eclipse debate.

Which brings me to my writing. I always take the debate off-season to focus on writing, and this year isn’t going to change. I’ve got some ideas that I’m developing, one of which I’ve put a lot of thought into. I won’t say what it is just yet, but I’m really looking forward to more time to be able to work on it. I’m going to put pen to paper soon and draft out some ideas, since the idea I have in mind will require a lot of time to prep out. My hope is that I can invest enough time into it that I’ll have an in-depth plan of what to do and start typing it by the end of the year, but given that I did a similar project last year that didn’t work out, I’m being more cautious this time around. As a wise man once remarked, the times they are a changin’.

Leave a Reply

