I don’t know my future after this weekend

You know that process called college applications? That big thing that involves millions of people every year? That big thing that sets the course of peoples’ futures for decades to come? That big thing I’ve been writing about for months now? For me, it might be over soon. By soon, I mean, in a few days. Yeah. A few more days.

It’s odd really. We’re talking about something I’ve been involved in for a year now and how it could be over by this time next weekend, or this time four months from now. Four days or four months. Like I said before, odd. What’s even weirder is that the decision about that has already been made, and I just don’t know about it. A decision that affects me in such a major way has been made nearly entirely by people I’ve never met, and I don’t know it. I get autonomy, autonomy, and more autonomy, and then suddenly my future is out of my hands. And I don’t know when I’ll get it back.

So that’s what’s on my mind right now. A little heavy, I know. But as a brilliant woman once wrote, “It takes courage to enjoy it.” So I guess I just need to enjoy the time I have right now. And for me, there’s no better way of doing that than writing. And look at what I’ve just done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

