State of the Kitchen Sink

And away we go.

It’s been nearly two years since I started this blog, and it’s been nearly six weeks since I arrived at college. The two have been interconnected for much time now. When I began this blog for my junior year journalism class, college admissions was the most obvious thing to write about, and write about college admissions I did. But now that admissions process is over, and this blog is still here. So a very real question remains: what now? If you’ll allow me, I’d like to answer that question, and talk a little about my future here at Oberlin College.

I won’t go into too many details about the past six weeks, mainly because there’s a lot to go into. But what I will talk about is my free time. I have loads of free time. I kind of knew that going into here, but I never would have thought I would have practically half of the day free to do whatever. My extracurriculars are not exactly consuming; they take up about six hours a month. This is disappointing, but it does give me a lot of time to write. And oh boy, have I written here. I’ve written at least fifty pieces here, and probably around sixty-five. With the 300 or so pieces I wrote over the summer, and the other pieces I hope will be coming, I figure I have more than a few I can share. I’ve already shared a few on this blog, and with the college process over, I think it’s time to open the doors.

So, every two weeks (at least), I’ll be sharing one new piece on here. I’ve already started, and I can’t wait to keep going. Some are shorter, weirder, sadder, better, than others. But I enjoy writing them, and I hope you’ll enjoy reading them. Feel free to share them as you please–they are yours as much as they are mine.

And I figure that sharing can go a little further, as well. So I’ve made a commitment to submit at least one piece to a publication every month, starting this month. There’s a couple on-campus publications I plan to shoot off to, then I’ll turn elsewhere. I have too much time, and too much work, to sit on my hands. If I want to be a full-time writer someday, and I really really really do, I need to start stretching out a bit. I’ll be rejected, I’ll be accepted, I’ll learn. It’ll take time for me to get anywhere, but when I do, I’ll be a better writer and person for it. And I’d like to take you on that journey too, as I did in my walk to get here.

I’ll try not to make too many of these personal posts. I know they’re long and sappy. But I think it’s important, now that I’m on my own, that I make some commitments and write them down, so they’ll be there and I can, you know, commit to them. I’m committing myself to my art, and I’m committing myself to this blog, to this community. I’ve been taking those steps, and I’m ready to take those steps. And hey, maybe you’ll walk with me, every now and then. That’s the most I can ask for.

Leave a Reply

